Menu Plan Monday

 

mpm-1

For the first time I am participating in Menu Plan Monday at I’m an Organizing Junkie: Follow the link to find it and many many great menu plan ideas!  http://ow.ly/SFTh

I haven’t done any menu planning in quite some time.  My daughter is away at university most of the time from late August until the end of April and my boyfriend works at a job where he has to make service calls all over southwestern Ontario, meaning that he is generally away about 90% of the time.  As such, I am home alone most of the time and have been pretty much preparing meals on the spur of the moment and by flying by the seat of my pants.  When I saw the Eat From The Pantry Challenge being hosted by Jessica at Life as Mom and Crystal at Money Saving Mom I decided that I should join in because despite pretty much living and eating alone most of the time, I found that I am still overspending on groceries and wasting a lot of food.  Go here if you’d like to hear about my plan:  https://cynsreality.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/eat-from-the-pantry-challenge/

I realize it has only been a few days but so far so good!  We haven’t gone to the store once since the challenge started and I have been making sure to make the best use out of everything I have here on hand, in particular any leftovers that we have.  For this coming week, I decided to jump on the bandwagon and go back to actually creating a meal plan.  Planning ahead is always a plus for me when it comes to making use of what I already have and avoiding trips to the grocery store.  Plus, I find that I am more creative when I take the time to sit down and make out a menu for the week rather than trying to come up with something on the spur of the moment.  Here’s my menu plan for this week:

Mon – pork tenderloin (from the freezer), roast potatoes (bag of Europe’s Best baby potatoes in freezer) and veggies (leftover from a raw veggie tray); also making banana bread with some of the flour I have left from holiday baking and bananas that are about to turn
Tues – cuban sandwiches (uses up the leftover pork tenderloin, bread and cheese in freezer, leftover ham in fridge)
Wed – out for dinner/blogger meetup
Thurs – beef roast, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, glazed carrots (roast in freezer, lots of potatoes left in pantry from over the holidays, ditto on carrots)
Fri – meatloaf, sweet potato fries, bacon wrapped green beans (ground beef in freezer, sweet potatoes in pantry leftover from the holidays, leftover bacon in fridge, can of green beans in pantry)
Sat – out of town
Sun – roast beef hash (using up the leftover beef roast from Thurs., have plenty of potatoes and veggies on hand in the pantry to add to it)

PS – Today is National Spaghetti Day!  If you would like some quick, easy, and different takes on spaghetti, many of which are quite suitable to variations based on what you have on hand, follow this link to my other blog: The Red Apple Tearoom:  http://islandtearoom.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/national-spaghetti-day/

Leave a Reply

