Christmas Questions

Wrapping paper or gift bags?…I use gift bags within the family to reduce on the cost both financially and ecologically of wrapping paper but if I’m giving gifts to others outside the family, I use wrapping paper.

Real or artificial tree?…Normally, artificial tree because I’m allergic to real trees but I found that it’s when the trees are cut that they really cause me a lot of problems.  We needed a new tree this year and I found a pretty 3 foot tall potted Norfolk Island Pine that we used as our “Charlie Brown” tree.

When does the tree go up?…on the first Sunday of Advent

When does the tree get taken down?…on Epiphany

Do you like eggnog?…LOVE it

Favourite gift received as a child?…I always loved getting baby dolls and I adored my Barbies but I think my all time favourite gift was the Barbie house my mom made for me..oh and the new doll clothes she made me every year.

Favourite gift received this year?…oh gosh, that’s a tough one.  My  new GPS from Sam is amazing especially for someone like me who is so directionally challenged.  Mom got me a Kindle which is fabulous!!! I’ve been wanting one for a while now and didn’t think I’d be able to get one for a year or two.  I think my absolute favourite gift though is the CD Sam burned for me.  She found my favourite Christmas music by Amy Grant and Sandi Patti and burned it onto a CD for me because I was really missing that music at this time of year!

Do you have a Nativity scene?…We have several.  They’re always an important part of our holiday decorating.

Hardest person to buy for?…my mom.  Normally I would say she’s the easiest because she has so many interests and things she likes to collect and so on but really, she’s getting to that age where she just doesn’t need as much and she really doesn’t have room for much more so it takes some creativity to come up with something useful and desired but that won’t take up too much valuable space.

Worst Christmas gift ever?…I can’t think of a gift I didn’t like.

A gift you really wanted but never got?…I still pine for the Easy Bake Oven I wanted.

Mail or email cards?…Mail but I’m terrible about getting them out in time so often end up sending New Year’s cards instead.

Favourite Christmas movie?…Miracle on 34th Street but I also love the Grinch, One Magic Christmas, Scrooged, Muppets Christmas Carol, and Christmas Vacation.

When do you start shopping?…I shop all year round whenever I find something appropriate.

Have you ever recycled a gift?…Yes.  There have been times when I’ve received a duplicate of something and rather than return it I regifted it.  Or often I would receive way more chocolates than I could or would want to eat from my students at Christmas and I’d pass some of those along.  Same with bottles of wine since I’m not really a wine drinker.

Favourite foods at Christmas?…shortbread cookies, turkey, sweet potato casserole, creamed peas, stuffing, cranberry sauce

Clear or coloured lights?…they both are pretty and can have their place but I prefer clear.

Favourite Christmas song?…how do I pick??? I love Silent Night – it reminds me of singing Sam to sleep with it every Christmas Eve.  O Holy Night – it was my dad’s favourite.  I’ve loved Little Drummer Boy and Do You Hear What I Hear since I was little.  I guess if I had to pick my all-time favourites it would be Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant, Emmanuel by Amy Grant, Worship the King by Sandi Patti, and The Gift Goes On by Sandi Patti.

Travel or stay home?…we almost always stay home but I’d love to travel to be able to spend Christmas with my family.

Can you name all the reindeer?…uh, have you met me?  Of course I can name all the reindeer.  Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen, and Rudolph.

Star or angel on top of the tree?…We had an angel this year because I didn’t have an appropriate star to use but I prefer a star.

When do you open gifts?…in our family the tradition has been on Christmas Eve but we have done it Christmas Day a couple times instead.

Best thing about this time of year?…the family togetherness

Most annoying thing about this time of year?…people who get so wrapped up in the stress of it instead of the joy

Leave a Reply

