Simple Woman’s Daybook Jan. 1, 2011

FOR TODAY
Outside my window…it is unseasonably warm.  The 4+ feet of snow we had out there from our several massive storms has now melted away and I can see grass in the yard again.  The squirrels seem pretty happy with this weather too – the two that live in the backyard are running and chasing each other, tumbling over one another as they play and I’ve seen more of our special little bunny over the past couple days too.
I am thinking…about the wonderful time I had last night with a special friend.  We just stayed in and talked for hours.  Watched the movie Salt (it was pretty good) and just enjoyed each other’s company.
I am thankful for…the new friends I have made during 2010 and the new opportunities that have and are continuing to open up for me.  I’m so enjoying sharing my creativity with others.
From the kitchen…we’re ordering Chinese food for dinner!  It’s a special treat for New Year’s Day!
I am wearing…comfy sweats and an old tshirt just in case I get paint or glue or anything on it.
I am creating…greeting cards, jewelry, and plaster pieces from the 3 online classes I’m taking today at Craftech U.
I am going…nowhere today.  It’s a day of relaxation and hanging out at home.
I am reading…The Greatest Miracle in the World by Og Mandino.  I’ve read it before but it’s such a great message to reread and an especially good way to start the new year.
I am hoping…to continue on the path that I’ve established and really bring my art into a place for forming a viable business.
I am hearing…the laughter of my daughter and her boyfriend!  They’re so sweet together.
Around the house…I’m loving some of the cleaning and reorganizing I’ve done.  The house looks less cluttered and more streamlined and I’m finding the “airy feeling” very soothing.
One of my favorite things…the gift I received last night from my friend.  Last year everyone was choosing a word to focus on for the year.  I wasn’t so sure about the idea at first – it seemed like it might be “hokey” and superficial but I decided to give it a try.  I chose Serenity and created a piece of artwork to remind me of it.  It really did serve me well.  There were some things that happened throughout the year in which I really needed some serenity and I found myself much calmer in dealing with them.  So, I decided to try it again this year.  My first thought was Faith but then I second guessed myself a few times and thought maybe I could come up with something better.  By yesterday afternoon, I had decided that Faith was the right word after all.  Well, last night I go to my friend’s home and he gives me my Christmas gift.  He had no idea about this whole “word of the year” thing but still, well, his gift couldn’t have been more appropriate (see below).  I knew then that it was meant to be.
A few plans for the rest of the week:  Doing the first few shows of our new schedule on Creative EdVentures.  This opens up a whole new chapter and is very exciting!
Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

seren3pic_thumb seren5pic_thumb serenitypic_thumb

ARTWORK FROM 2010’s WORD

faithpic_thumb

THE GIFT MY FRIEND GAVE ME AND MY 2011 WORD

Leave a Reply

