30 Days Hath November: Day 8: The Last Item I Purchased

jackiekpic

I have been waiting and waiting to purchase this.  It’s a bit pricey (not that it’s not worth it to me) so I made myself wait.  I promised myself that when my first pay cheque came in from the design team I’m on, I would treat myself to this.  A brief time after John F. Kennedy was assassinated, his widow Jackie and his brother Robert embarked on an oral history project to record their first hand accounts of life with JFK.  Although Jackie spent the rest of her life refusing to discuss those times, she did sit down with Arthur Schlesinger Jr. a few months after JFK’s death to record her memories.  Upon completion, the tapes were sealed, not to be opened for many many years to come.  Caroline Kennedy and her family agreed to release the tapes to the public for the very first time in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of JFK’s inauguration.  As a political science major and a history buff I cannot wait to dig into these interviews!

Leave a Reply

