Kakizome

In Japan, on the second day of the new year, many families take part in Kakizome, “first writing”.  They use long strips of paper and prepare ink by mixing an ink stick with water.  Each person then uses a brush and writes out a favourite poem or proverb.  This is both a way of practising and showing improvement in their calligraphy (if they do an especially nice job it will be placed on display in the home) as well as a way of greeting the new year with positive thoughts.

When I read about this custom, it was particularly fitting that I had just read a quote that I liked and felt spoke to me.   Then, several more appeared and each one seemed like a personal message directed at me.  So, I decided to do my own version of Kakizome, using more of a digital subway art format as you can see here:

image

Leave a Reply

